Whether or not you need a visa to enter Luxembourg
depends on a number of factors including your nationality,
length and reason of intended stay and what other
documents you have applied for.


Please note that due to important immigration law changes, the information will be updated as soon as possible. For urgent matters please contact us.


Citizens of the following countries can enter the
Luxembourg territory and stay for a maximum
of three months (tourist visit, family visit,
business trip etc.)without a visa provided they have:

a valid national identity card (valid for at least three months after the beginning of the journey);
  • Andorra, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, San Marino, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.
a valid passport without a visa (valid for at least three months after the beginning of the journey);
  • Albania (with biometric passport), Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Australia, Bahamas, Barbados, Bosnia Herzegovina (with biometric passport), Brazil, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Hong Kong, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Macao, Macedonia (with biometric passport), Malaysia, Mauritius, Mexico, Montenegro (with biometric passport), New Zealand, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Singapore, South Korea, Taïwan, United Kingdom, USA, Uruguay, Vatican City, Venezuela.

Citizens of EU member states do not require a visa to enter Luxembourg, or stay for an indefinite period, however they must make a residence declaration (declaration de résidence) within three months of arrival.

Nationals of countries outside the EU should check first with their countries embassy or consulate in Luxembourg as regulations are prone to change but in principle visitors from North or South America, and most non-EU European and Pacific Rim countries do not require a visa for visits up to ninety days but if you are coming to Luxembourg to conduct any business, even for a short time, it is wise to check with your embassy or consulate before embarking on your trip, as it is possible you will need a business visa.

Any non-EU national residing in Luxembourg for more than ninety days must have a visa stamped into their passport before entering the country. You should apply for a visa in person at your local consulate or embassy and allow plenty of time before departure.


Short-stay visa

Those requiring a visa for visits up to ninety days will commonly be issued with a Schengen visa, which allows you movement throughout the Schengen countries (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden). Each country still maintains the right to refuse you entry but in most instances you won't even be stopped at the border. The visa must be from your primary destination, i.e. the country you will be residing in the longest and, although requirements vary slightly from country to country, you will normally need the following documentation:

  • a passport (valid for at least three months past your departure date);
  • application form and current photograph(s);
  • proof of your purpose of stay, with details of lodging/hotel booking;
  • sufficient funds to cover the costs of your stay;
  • a return air ticket.

Applications can take more than a month, so please allow plenty of time.

Please note: the short-stay visa does not permit the carrying out of a profit-making or remunerated activity.

A valid passport with a short-stay visa is required for citizens of the following countries:
  • Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China, Colombia, Comoros, Congo, Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, East Timor, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Ivory Coast, Jamaica, Jordon, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, FYR of Macedonia, Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar, Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, North Korea, Northern Mariana Islands, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Lucia, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Sudan, Surinam, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Vietnam, Western Samoa, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Long-stay or resident visa (authorisation de séjour provisoire)

EU and EEA nationals (and Switzerland) do not require a long-stay visa. All other nationalities must have obtained a long-term visa stamp in their passport before arriving in Luxembourg. Application for a visa is done through the Luxembourg embassy or consulate in your country of residence. Visas cannot be obtained or changed once you have arrived in Luxembourg. If your country of residence does not have a Luxembourg embassy or consulate it is usually possible to apply for a Luxembourg long-stay visa through the Netherlands or Belgium embassy.

Documents required when applying for a long-term visa:

  • passport valid for at least three months beyond the first anniversary of your intended arrival date, e.g. if arrival is planned for September 2013 your passport must be valid until at least December 2014;
  • legalised birth certificate (translated if necessary) for you and all family members entering the country;
  • legalised copies of your marriage or divorce certificate, if applicable (translated if necessary);
  • medical certificate from an approved doctor (please ask your embassy or consulate for a list of approved doctors);
  • completed application form for you and each family member;
  • passport photos;
  • a work permit, or evidence that your future employer has applied for a work permit on your behalf;
  • evidence of eligibility to work in your field, e.g. university certificate or professional card;
  • police record (certificate of good standing);
  • proof of financial independence (if you are not working);
  • proof of health insurance;
  • students - a copy of your admission to school/university;
  • au pair - a copy of contract between you and host family.

Please note: if you try to enter the country without a valid visa (if applicable) you will be refused entry. In general Luxembourg requires you to have a work permit, or evidence that your future employer has applied for your work permit, before you are entitled to even apply for a long-stay visa. Application can take up to three months or more, so please allow plenty of time.